Posted by: Mom on a Mission | August 6, 2011

Portsmouth Campground, Cuyuna State Park, MN

Marsh in Father Hennepin State Park

Image via Wikipedia

It’s been a while – a week! Like I said, I am a much better blogger when I am sans hubby, but it’s a pretty good trade-off.

We made it back to MN and are having a new water pump installed in the generator. That problem solved. And we made it in time for our niece’s wedding. It was a good weekend!

By the way, on the way back, the weather cooled off enough for me to drive without the generator/AC and . . . my fuel mileage went up to 8 mpg! Amazing! I bet if I can time my drive to CA so I don’t need AC, I can get up to 10 mpg. It’s like a shiny carrot dangling in front of me even now.

So, now without anything on our plates, we decided to look for a state park with swimming to camp out while the hubby looked for a load. We discovered Cayuna Country just north of us in Crosby/Ironton. That worked out great because our dental apt was in Deerwood, which is on the way.

The campground isn’t actually in the state park, but just a mile or two away, on a clear lake over the old mining pits. It’s called Portsmouth Campground and we had it nearly all to ourselves for three days. It was $21 a night (4 pm – 4 pm) and that included 50 amp electric – a good deal in my book. This was actually our first time in a campground and for electric – plus a clear, clean lake to swim in – heaven!

You have to buy a state park permit ($25 for the first vehicle, $18 for a second) but it’s good for a year and you can then go into any MN state park and spend the day swimming or enjoying the activities a lot of the state parks offer for kids, so I think it’s well worth it.

There is a bathroom/shower house, and a water faucet outside. It looked like there used to be water and sewer at all the sites, but they were all closed up, except the one at the “host” campsite, conveniently located next to ours. God is good.

Next stop? Grandma’s lake cabin farther north, near Hackensack, MN. Another clear, shallow lake to swim in, warm campfires, and Grandma’s hugs! The bus is staying in town though and we are headed up in our van.

Be well!


Responses

  1. It’s always great to find a clean lake!!! Do you have time to get together while you’re in MN? Give me a call on my land line! Miss you. 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories